Copyright Doncaster LMC ©   (Company Reg No 6775496) .  All rights reserved.

T&C   Oops, I’ve spotted a mistake

About us

A Local Medical Committee is an independent organisation recognised in law to represent the interests of its levy paying members.  Levy paying members are most frequently General Practitioners but also include other healthcare professionals such as Practice Managers who by virtue of their status as Partner to an NHS Primary Care contract contribute to the Statutory Levy.

Doncaster LMC represents its members at local, regional and national levels on all matters relating to the provision of healthcare.

Membership is open to all levy paying members working across Doncaster.

The current Statutory Levy is 45p per registered patient and is used to fund the activities of Doncaster LMC in the interests of its members.  Doncaster LMC is a not for profit organisation.

In addition to the Statutory Levy, Doncaster LMC has the responsibility of collecting and paying a Voluntary Levy from its members ton behalf of the General Practice Defence Fund in the interest of UK wide General Practice.  The GPDF fund the activities of the General Practitioners Committee of the British Medical Association and as such are responsible for supporting our national negotiating body. The current Voluntary Levy is 7p per registered patient.

If you would like to become a member, contact us.


The LMC comprises of 16 elected members who work in and around Doncaster.

The elected members represent their locality through attending regular committee meetings, attending ad hoc specialist representative meetings, influencing local policy and providing support to members in need.

The elected committee provide the voice of members to the Doncaster LMC Executive Team.

Read our constitution.

The Doncaster Medical Committee secretariat comprises of Dr Rumit Shah (Chair), Dr Kevin Lee (Vice Chair and Treasurer), Dr Dean Eggitt (Medical Secretary), Mr David Gibbons (Liaison Officer) and Jane Torn (Lay Secretary).

The day to day running of LMC business is done by Dr Eggitt, Mr Gibbons and Mrs Torn who are employed by the committee to carry out its functions.


Vice Chairman

Lay Secretary

Medical Secretary

Executive Team

Liaison Officer